• The Acoustican


Indian Classical Music is deep , expressive and elaborate. As In Western Music they used Octaves (12 semitones) with 7 basic notes in ascending order like Do Re Mi Fa So La Ti. 

From Bharat Muni to this era’s Granthkars ,all have divided 22 shrutis in 7 notes.( in ascending order -Sa,Re ,Ga ,Ma ,Pa ,Dha ,Ni) Vyankatmakhi in Chaturdandiprakashika said Sa,Ma and Pa has four-four shrutis each ,Ga and Ni has two-two shrutis each ,Re and Dha has three-three shrutis each .In Every Raag, different Shruti be used of each note.There are different types of Thaats (Modes) on basis of this Raag is created.The Modern system of Thaat was created by Vishnu Narayan Bhatkhande in between 1860-1936, the great musicologist in the North Indian Classical Music in early twentieth century.He visited different Gharans of North Indian Classical Music for research.His research led him to create a system of 32 thaats .There were many thaats popular at his time however he chose only 10 to highlight are below:

1- Bilawal (Ionian Mode)=Sa,Re, Ga ,Ma ,Pa ,Dha ,Ni ( Dheerasankarabharanam in Carnatic ) 2- Kafi (Dorian Mode)=Sa, Re ,komal Ga ,Ma ,Pa ,Dha ,komal Ni ( Kharaharapriya in Carnatic ) 3- Bhairavi (Phyrigian Mode)=Sa ,komal Re ,komal Ga ,Ma Pa ,komal Dha ,komal Ni (Hanumatodi in Carnatic ) 4- Kalyan (Lydian Mode)=Sa, Re ,Ga, tivra Ma, Pa ,Dha, Ni ( Kalyani in Carnatic ) 5- Khamaaj (Mixolydian Mode)=Sa ,Re ,Ga Ma ,Pa ,Dha ,komal Ni ( Harikambhoji in Carnatic  ) 6- Aasawari(Aeolian Mode)=Sa ,Re ,komal Ga, Ma, Pa, komal Dha ,komal Ni ( Natabhairavi in Carnatic ) 7- Bhairav (Double harmonic Mode)=Sa ,komal Re ,Ga ,Ma ,Pa ,komal Dha ,Ni ( Mayamalavagowla in Carnatic ) 8- Marwa =Sa ,komal Re ,Ga , tivra Ma ,Dha ,Ni ( Gamanashrama in Carnatic ) 9- Purvi=Sa ,komal Re ,Ga ,tivra Ma ,Pa, komal Dha ,Ni ( Pantuvarali in Carnatic ) 10- Todi =Sa ,komal Re ,komal Ga ,tivra Ma ,Pa ,komal Dha ,Ni ( Shubhapantuvarali in Carnatic)

Note (Komal =Flat and Tivra=Sharp )

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All